Granted is a wonderful book for middle grade kids. Girls in particular, will relate to the main character of Ophelia Delphinium Fidgets, wish granting fairy. Anderson presents a 21st Fairy world without eliminating the magic and mystery of fairy lore.
Ophelia is on her first mission as a Granter. All she has to do is find the coin the girl wished on, sprinkle it with fairy dust, say the magic words, and then return home. Since Ophelia finished first in her class this should be easy, but the world outside “haven” is very different and can be dangerous to even a well-trained fairy.
As in Ms. Bixby’s Last Day, Anderson creates believable and loveable characters. Ophelia learns that sometimes one has to choose between two deserving people and the consequence of that choice. Making things right is not easy, but is worth the effort.
I would recommend this for fans of Jeanne Birdsall’s Penderwicks series, Laura Amy Schlitz’s The Night Fairy and Edward Eager’s Half Magic series, and of course, John David Anderson’s other books.

AndLib1's rating:
[]
[]
To Top