Clark County

Clark County

eBook - 2006
Rate this:
Clark County was created in 1873 by an act of territorial legislature. It was named for Newton Clark, a territorial legislator. On June 27, 1878, the first white settlers arrived in Clark County. Settlers continued migrating to Clark County, and by 1880, there were enough settlers to petition for organization. On May 23, 1881, Clark County became an official county. The first courthouse was built in 1888 in Clark. Besides Clark, the following towns were soon formed: Bradley, Carpenter, Crocker, Elrod, Garden City, Melham, Naples, Raymond, Vienna, and Willow Lake. Clark County, located in northeast South Dakota in the Glacial Lakes and Prairie Region, is home to some 4,500 residents.
Publisher: Charleston, SC : Arcadia, 2006
ISBN: 9780738540269
Characteristics: 128 p. : ill. ; 24 cm


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.


Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further


Subject Headings


Find it at SAPL

To Top